About the Orchestra

The New River Orchestra, Inc. is the collaboration of a group of musicians for the continued study and performance of classical music. Our vision is to be an elite local orchestra. We are committed to being a source of pride and joy for our audience.

The orchestra was founded in 2005 by Beverly Daw, Frank Molano, and Linc Lackey, and began with 15 members looking for a musical outlet during the summer season. Today, the orchestra has grown into a group of over 50 members.

We are committed to having a rewarding educational and musical experience for both our members and our audiences.

Program 2018

Bernstein - Candide Overture

Lalo - Symphonie Espangnole - Rand Bella, Violin Soloist

De Falla - Suite #2 from The Three Cornered Hat

Corral Nocturne and Hoe Down - Copland

Bernstein - A Simple Song (from Mass)

Grofe - On The Trail from the Grand Canyon Suite

Fuchs - Patriotic Medley - Featuring South Florida Gay Men's Chorus *

Anderson - Serenata

Martin - The Awakening - Featuring South Florida Gay Men's Chorus *

Arlen - Over the Rainbow Featuring South Florida Gay Men's Chorus *

* Performed at Sunshine Cathedral concert only


2018 Roster

  • Flute
    Carol Naveira-Nicholson*
    Beth Sperling

    Beth Sperling

    Kathy Crotty*
    Eula Skehan

    Bass Clarinet/Saxophones
    Mike Rieder

    Janice Gillies*
    Lee Berger

    English Horn
    Lee Berger

    James Finsterle
    Marc Slakoff*

    French Horn
    Tim Beasor
    Mike Kates
    Kim Nickelson
    Lauren White*

    Trudy Cavallo*
    Dennis Noday
    Bill Wasserman

    Manny Camacho
    Mark Edwards*
    Charles Frishman

    Patrick Anello*

    Tom Mann
    Jonathan Sydel

    Drum Set
    Paul Freier

  • Violin 1
    Reagan Beagle
    Rand Bella
    Alicia Bustamante
    Gloria Hakkarainen
    Helen Hauser
    David Kurtic
    Vanessa Leal
    Stuart McIver**
    Beverly Sanders

    Violin II
    Jacolyn Alvarez
    Deborah Anselma
    David Chen
    Janice Coker
    Cheryl Collora
    Dilek Gokturk-Cary
    Mia Hakkarainen
    Peter Vertes*

    Stephanie Firdman
    Bob Gavilo*
    Andi Gomberg
    Dorothy Hegarty
    Frank Molano
    Ellen Musen
    SueEllen Pompa

    Judith Bezark
    Bill Bryan
    Beverly Daw*
    Diana Murdock
    Stuart Wardlaw

    Linc Lackey*
    Piper Spencer

    Dorothy Hegarty

    ** Denotes Concertmaster
    * Denotes Principal

New River Orchestra

Contact Us